Community and Clinical Connections

Welcome to the Community and Clinical Connections for Prevention and Health Branch

Our Staff

Our staff serves as a resource for technical assistance, information and training for all North Carolina residents. Click on individual staff members below for more information about job responsibilities, roles and past professional experience.

Cathy Thomas

Branch Manager

Phone: 919-707-5216

Email: cathy.thomas@dhhs.nc.gov

Administrative Team

Cindy Stevenson

Administrative Manager

Phone: 919-707-5239

Email: cindy.stevenson@dhhs.nc.gov

Xavier Christmas

Administrative Assistant

Phone: 919-707-5228

Email: xavier.christmas@dhhs.nc.gov

Alicia Clark

Administrative Assistant

Phone: 919-707-5370

Email: alicia.clark@dhhs.nc.gov

Anne Lee

Administrative Officer

Phone: 919-707-5234

Email: anne.lee@dhhs.nc.gov

Tara White

Administrative Specialist

Phone: 919-707-5236

Email:tara.white@dhhs.nc.gov

Healthy Environments Action Team (HEAT)

April Reese

Programs Manager

Phone: 919-707-5344

Email: april.reese@dhhs.nc.gov

Juanita Akinleye

Clinical Coordinator

Phone: 919-707-5436

Email: juanita.akinleye@dhhs.nc.gov

Dave Gardner

Worksite Wellness and School Coordinator

Phone: 919-707-5222

Email: dave.gardner@dhhs.nc.gov

Sharon R. Jackson, MPA

Diabetes Prevention Specialist

Phone: 919-707-5372

Email: sharon.r.jackson@dhhs.nc.gov

Sanga Krupakar

Hypertension Coordinator

Phone: 919-707-5221

Email: sangamithra.krupakar@dhhs.nc.gov

Kamaria Mason

Minority Diabetes Prevention Specialist

Phone: 919-707-5245

Email: kamaria.mason@dhhs.nc.gov

Capri McDonald

Early Care and School Health Specialist

Phone: 919-707-5219

Email: capri.mcdonald@dhhs.nc.gov

Epidemiology/Evaluation Team

Essete Kebede

Epidemiologist/Evaluator

Phone: 919-707-5369

Email: essete.kebede@dhhs.nc.gov

Sam Thompson

Lead Evaluator

Phone: 919-707-5238

Email: sam.thompson@dhhs.nc.gov

Communications Team

Kendrick D. Kemp

Communications Specialist

Phone: 919-707-5235

Email: kendrick.kemp@dhhs.nc.gov

Jen Sohl-Marion

Healthy Eating and Communications Coordinator

Phone: 919-707-5231

Email: jen.sohl-marion@dhhs.nc.gov

Faithful Families Eating Smart and Moving More

Julia Yao

Faithful Families Program Specialist

Phone: 919-707-5226

Email: julia.yao@dhhs.nc.gov

Healthy Eating and Active Living

Mary Bea Kolbe

Healthy Eating and Active Living Coordinator

Phone: 919-707-5229

Email: marybea.kolbe@dhhs.nc.gov

Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force

Anna Bess Brown

Task Force Executive Director and NC eHealth Refer and Track Coordinator

Phone: 919-707-5361

Email: anna.brown@dhhs.nc.gov

Catalyst for Healthy Eating and Active Living Program

Jamie Cousins

Catalyst for Healthy Eating and Active Living Program Manager

Phone: 919-707-5241

Email: jamie.cousins@dhhs.nc.gov

Eat Smart, Move More, Weigh Less and Eat Smart, Move More, Prevent Diabetes Team

Megan Haubenreiser

Marketing Specialist

Phone: 919-707-5240

Email: megan.haubenreiser@dhhs.nc.gov